Author Topic: trying to get on EASY - HELP !only takes a few oz but wants to feed 2 hourly!  (Read 1693 times)

Offline annie74

• New & Learning The Ropes
  • Showing Appreciation 1
Hi ladies -have posted this on bottlefeeding forum too!!

I'm hoping someone can give me some advice as i'm relatively new to bottle feeding and am having problems trying to get Sam on a 3 hour EASY!

Our history - I was exclusively bf for 14 weeks except a bottle at 10pm that daddy did .  Feeding was always a nightmare, often every hour or 2.  Sam was in SCBU as he was 4 weeks early so he's always had trouble feeding.  He does take a bottle though so is not rejecting it.  Gave up the boob on thursday as i was exhuasted and could't go on anymore   .  Anyway - the formula as improved his nightime sleep no end - going 4-5 hours between feeds which is a massive massive improvement!!!!! 

For the last couple of days been trying to get him on EASY but in the day he won;t take more than 2-3 oz.  He must be around 13lb weight now.  I tried all yesterday to extend his feeding and when we managed it - twice he took 4oz and then threw it up  .  Before bed he fed at 5.30pm 6 and 7pm taking an ounce or 2.  Then dream feed at 10.30 where he had 4 1.2 oz.  He's had rubbish naps also so feel if he is fed and content will sleep better.  I'm very careful not to oversimulate as i know how wired his sister got when ot and am a firm believer in more sleep and rest makes them sleep better!!! 

1.  How long do i try and feed him for???  A silly question but when he stops, keep trying or 15mins, 1/2 hour an hour??  (I have a 2yr old also who was a fab breastfeeder so never had this).  He downs 2 oz then keeps pulling of and squirming.  I try and wind him to see if thats the problem but its not.